Grading for the first time

I used to be quite unhappy with the grading process when I was an undergraduate. But now I am being assigned as a grader, with 60+ homework laid in front of me in a huge pile, I realize the task is not that easy. Students makes all kinds of careless mistakes from not noticing the condition given in the problem and omitting totally legitimate solutions. Overall they are not doing very badly but very few did really well. I am wondering if that is the same in other things, where shallow understanding is easy but deeper mastering of the subject remains rare. Mathematics is not the only subject that needs artistic creativity and masonic attention to detail to guarantee full rigor. Otherwise, like one of the erroneous homework solutions I graded – 1^3 could be 2 and we will be living in 1984 instead.

Leave a Reply

